Monday, December 27, 2010

Three Years Makes Quite A Difference in Penguins Roster for 2011 Winter Classic

 On January 1, 2011, it will be exactly three years from the first ever Winter Classic in 2008 where the Pittsburgh Penguins defeated the Buffalo Sabres 2-1 in a shootout. It seems like yesterday when Sidney Crosby scored that famous game winning goal in the shootout. Three years may not seem like a long time, but the Penguins roster has changed dramatically since then. Only 8 of the 23 players remain on the Penguins currently. That includes players that were injured in 2008 as well as right now. Let's take a look at the 2008 Winter Classic roster:
D Rob Scuderi

D Darryl Sydor

C Jordan Staal

LW Ryan Malone

C Erik Christensen

RW Petr Sykora

LW Adam Hall

D Ryan Whitney

RW Colby Armstrong

RW Georges Laraque

G Dany Sabourin

G Ty Conklin

LW Jarkko Ruutu

C Jeff Taffe

D Brooks Orpik

RW Tyler Kennedy

D Sergei Gonchar

D Kris Letang

LW Evgeni Malkin

C Sidney Crosby

 G Marc-Andre Fleury (Injured)

C Max Talbot (Injured)

D Mark Eaton (Injured)

2011 Tentative Roster:

G Brent Johnson
D Alex Goligoski
D Zbynek Michalek
D Deryk Engelland
D Ben Lovejoy
D Paul Martin
RW Pascal Dupuis
C Mark Letestu

LW Chris Kunitz

C Mike Rupp

RW Chris Conner

LW Matt Cooke

C Max Talbot

RW Craig Adams

RW Eric Godard

G Marc-Andre Fleury

D Brooks Orpik

RW Arron Asham

LW Tyler Kennedy

D Kris Letang

C Evgeni Malkin

C Sidney Crosby

C Jordan Staal (Injured)

C Mike Comrie (Injured)

 The eight players that were on that 2008 roster were Sidney Crosby, Jordan Staal, Evgeni Malkin, Marc-Andre Fleury, Kris Letang, Brooks Orpik, Max Talbot, and Tyler Kennedy. At least seven of them will likely play in the 2011 Winter Classic. Staal is battling a hand injury and could miss the game, but he has not ruled it out just yet.

Where Are They Now? A Look at the 2008 former Penguins who participated in the Winter Classic:
Rob Scuderi: Signed a four year deal with the Los Angeles Kings in 2009.
Darryl Sydor: Retired
Ryan Malone: In the summer of 2008, he signed a seven year contract with the Tampa Bay Lightning.
Erik Christensen: Playing for the New York Rangers after they claimed him on waivers.
Petr Sykora: Playing for the Dynamo Minsk in the KHL.
Adam Hall: Currently playing for the Tampa Bay Lightning.
Ryan Whitney: Currently playing for the Edmonton Oilers after he was traded there from Anaheim.
Colby Armstrong: Signed a three year deal this summer with the Toronto Maple Leafs.
Georges Laraque: Retired
Dany Sabourin: Currently playing for the Hershey Bears in the AHL.
Ty Conklin: Currently playing for the St. Louis Blues.
Jarkko Ruutu: Currently playing for the Ottawa Senators.
Jeff Taffe: Currently playing for the Rockford Icehogs in the AHL.
Sergei Gonchar: Left the Penguins this summer to sign a three year contract with the Ottawa Senators.
Mark Eaton: Left the Penguins this summer to sign a two year contract with the New York Islanders.

No comments:

Post a Comment